Gujarat Election Results: BJP readies for a record-smashing win, handing Congress a defeat to remember

Amrutha Pagad
Amrutha PagadDec 08, 2022 | 08:22

Gujarat Election Results: BJP readies for a record-smashing win, handing Congress a defeat to remember

Gujarat gives a thumping support to BJP for the 7th consecutive time. Photo: aajtak.in

The D-Day is here for the Gujarat Assembly elections. BJP is aiming to retain power in the state for a seventh straight term. While AAP is trying to make inroads into Gujarat. Congress is hoping that the Bharat Jodo Yatra will make an impact on the voters and revive the party. 

Assembly elections in Gujarat were held on December 1 and 5.


The India Today-Axis My India exit polls have predicted a BJP win in Gujarat. According to the predictions BJP is slated to win 129-151 seats out of 182 seats. 


  • Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel wins Ghatloadia seat. 
  • Congress's Jignesh Mevani leads from Vadgam.
  • Congress removes the countdown clock it installed at the party office in Gujarat. The clock was supposed to count down to a BJP defeat.
  • Gujarat Congress chief Jagdish Thakor says Asaduddin Owaisi and AAP ate into the votes of the Congress. 
  • AAP leader and Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Singh says they "humbly accept Gujarat's mandate". 
  • Congress Gujarat in-charge Raghu Sharma has resigned as the party stares at a defeat in the assembly elections. 
  • BJP has won 47 seats and is leading in 110 seats, as of 3 pm. Congress has won 4 seats and is leading on 12 seats, and AAP is leading on 5 seats.
  • Gujarat Home Minister Harsh Sanghvi speaks to India Today TV:

  • Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Gujarat election results: 
Under the leadership of Modi ji, BJP broke all the records of development in Gujarat and today the people of Gujarat have blessed the BJP and broken all the records of victory.
  • BJP candidate from Jamnagar North, Rivaba Jadeja, holds a roadshow along with her cricketer husband Ravindra Jadeja. She is leading in the assembly constituency. 

  • Bhupendra Patel will be Gujarat Chief Minister again. 
  • Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel on BJP's performance in the state elections: 
The results of Gujarat elections are quite clear. People have made up their minds to further continue with the journey of development in Gujarat.
  • BJP has so far won 5 seats in Gujarat. 
  • Gujarat BJP Chief CR Patil announces that Gujarat CM will take oath on December 12 at 2 pm in a ceremony attended by PM Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah.
  • BJP has won 3 seats - Petlad, Mahuva and Dahod - so far. Congress has won one seat - Jamalpur-Khadia.
  • BJP wins 3 seats in Gujarat, and leads in 150 seats, according to ECI. 
  • Gujarat Home Minister Harsh Sanghavi says the state has given a message by supporting the BJP. He said:
Gujarat has given the message, that the people of Gujarat & BJP will remain together. People of Gujarat gave a befitting reply to those who insulted the state. We'll further aim to work for the progress of Gujarat.
  • BJP candidate Hardik Patel is leading with 61,019 votes in Viramgam. AAP's Amarsinh Thakor is in the second spot with 33,877 votes.
  • BJP wins from Dahod assembly seat. BJP candidate Bachubhai Kishori defeated Congress rival Harshad Ninama by 29,350 votes.
  • BJP is leading on 154 seats, Congress is leading on 19 seats and AAP is leading on 6 seats.  
  • BJP Gujarat's General Secretary, Pradipsinh Vaghela, thanks the people of the state for their support, and says PM Modi's "politics of development" won. 
  • AAP's CM face Isudan Gadhvi trails from Khambaliya seat. BJP is leading by over 8,000 votes. 
  • BJP is leading in 155 seats and Congress is leading in 18 seats. 
  • Gandhidham Congress candidate attempted suicide at the counting center alleging tampering of EVMs. 
  • Former Congress leader and BJP candidate Hardik Patel leads by 21,000 votes in Viramgam.
  • Independent candidate and BJP rebel Dharmendrasinh Vaghela leads in Vaghodia, while the saffron party candidate Ashvin Patel trails. 
  • Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri says the thumping support for BJP is the "manifestation" of the party's "development-anchored work".
  • BJP is leading in over 150 seats, while Congress is leading in 21 seats. BJP will set a new record if it wins 150 seats or more. The last best record is of Congress in 1985 when it won 149 seats out of 182 seats.  
  • Women BJP workers perform garba at the party headquarters in Gandhinagar. 
  • BJP leader CT Ravi mocks Congress' Rahul Gandhi over the party's performance in Gujarat elections. 

  • If BJP manages to win over 150 seats, it will be breaking its own records. BJP is already leading in 157 seats. 
  • BJP candidate Hardik Patel makes a small gain against AAP's Amarsinh Thakor in Viramgam. Congress, whose candidate is the sitting MLA of Viramgam, is trailing at the third spot. 
  • AIMIM's Sakil Mahamad Sama leads from Bhuj. 
  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi to visit BJP headquarters at 6 pm today to address party workers.  
  • Defence Minister Rajnath Singh says there is "pro-incumbency" in Gujarat.

  • BJP is leading on 154 seats, Congress is leading on 19 seats and AAP is leading on 6 seats as of 10.15 am.
  • Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel leading by over 6,000 votes from Ghatlodiya. 
  • BJP is leading in over 150 seats. 
  • Isudan Gadhvi, AAP's CM face, leads from Khambaliya seat. 
  • BJP celebrates at Gandhinagar party office as early trends show clear lead in the state. 
  • According to the ECI, BJP is leading on 123 seats in early trends. 

  • Gujarat Home Minister Harsh Sanghvi leading from Manjura seat. 
  • BJP candidate Rivaba Jadeja leads from Jamnagar North seat. She is the wife of Indian cricketer Ravindra Jadeja. 
  • Congress candidate Jignesh Mevani leads from Vadgam seat. 
  • BJP's Hardik Patel takes the lead from Viramgam after trailing initially. 
  • Official results show BJP leading on 3 seats, Congress leading on 2 seats and AAP leading on 1 seat. 

  • BJP leads from Morbi, where a pedestrian suspension bridge collapse in October killed over 140 people. BJP's Kantilal Arutiya is leading from Morbi.
  • BJP' is leading in Godhra, the flashpoint of the 2002 riots. BJP's CK Raulji is leading against AAP's Rajesh Patel Raju and Rashmitaben Dushyantsinh Chauhan of Congress.
  • BJP leads in over 100 seats. Congress leading on 46 seats. 
  • BJP's Hardik Patel is trailing from Viramgam in early trends. 
  • Early trends show BJP taking the lead. BJP is leading on 98 seats, while Congress is leading on 22 seats.
  • BJP candidate Hardik Patel says he's confident of the party forming a government. 

  • The counting of votes begins for 182 seats in Gujarat. Postal ballots are being counted first. 

  • Counting of votes taking place at 37 centres in Gujarat. Gujarat Chief Electoral Officer P Bharathi said: 
Three-tier security arrangement will be in place for the counting process.
Last updated: December 08, 2022 | 16:30
    Please log in
    I agree with DailyO's privacy policy