Northeast polls: BJP and allies win Tripura and Nagaland, hung assembly in Meghalaya

DailyBiteMar 02, 2023 | 19:05

Northeast polls: BJP and allies win Tripura and Nagaland, hung assembly in Meghalaya

The BJP with allies comfortably wins Tripura and Nagaland as Meghalaya heads for hung assembly. Photo: Getty

The Bhartiya Janata Party's (BJP) winning run in elections continued on Thursday (March 2) with the party and its allies all set to clinch three out of two states in the northeast where polls took place recently.

The counting of votes for assembly polls in three  states Tripura, Nagaland and Meghalaya took place today.

The BJP is headed for a comfortable win in Tripura as the party has won 32 seats in 60-member assembly. In Nagaland, the NDPP-BJP alliance is all set to form the government again. In Meghalaya, things aren't completely clear yet as no political party has crossed the halfway mark.


BJP retains Tripura: The BJP has once again got the better of the the Left's and the Congress has retained the state with 32 seats. 1 seat is won by its ally Indigenous People Front of Tripura (IPFT).

While the Communist Party of India (M) has won 11 seats, the Congress got just 3 seats, while the regional Tipra Motha Party has registered victory on 13 seats.

The BJP had won the state for the first time in 2018 when it won 36 seats. Biplab Kumar Deb was made the new CM of Tripura, however, he was replaced with Manik Saha in May 2022 by the BJP high command..

Hung assembly in Meghalaya: In the 59 seats that went to polls in Meghalaya, incumbent Chief Minister Conrad Sangma's National People's Party (NPP) has won 22 and is leading on 4 seats. The BJP has won two seats.

Sangma is most expected to retain the state with the support from other political parties.

Congress, which ruled the state from 2008-2018 has won five seats.

Celebrations have already started at Sangma's place as he his expected to hold the CM's seat for the second time in a row.


Mamata Banerjee's All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) has won five seats in the state,

NDPP-BJP clinch Nagaland:  In the 60 member Nagaland assembly, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)has won 25 seats while it's ally BJP has won 12, as per data from the Election Commission of India.

The most shocking result from the Nagaland is the fate of Naga Peoples Party which is reduced to 2 seats. The party had won 26 seats in 2018.

Though the NDPP-BJP had been able to form the governmen on 40:20 formula, with BJP's 12 and NDPP's 17 seats, this time, the NDPP has an upper hand in the alliance.

Chief Minister Neiphio Rio, who has also swept his assembly seat with 17,045 , is votes, is all set to be the CM again.

Last updated: March 02, 2023 | 19:05
    Please log in
    I agree with DailyO's privacy policy