dailyO
Technology

Netflix Profile Transfer is live in India. It's not looking good for all of you who don't pay for an account

Amrutha Pagad
Amrutha PagadOct 31, 2022 | 16:05

Netflix Profile Transfer is live in India. It's not looking good for all of you who don't pay for an account

Netflix releases 'profile transfer' feature. Representative photo.

It is no secret that Netflix wants to suck more money out of its subscribers, who BTW, are leaving Netflix at a rate faster than you leaving your workplace. And it seems like the streaming service is launching features to achieve this dream. But users aren't fooled. 

Recently, several Netflix users, including those in India, reported receiving an email from Netflix saying that the company has now launched 'Profile Transfer'. According to Netflix, you will need Profile Transfers because: 

People move. Families grow. Relationships change.
- Netflix

What does the feature do? Well, say you have three profiles listed on your Netflix account that only you are paying for. Now, let's say one of the profiles belonged to your boyfriend/girlfriend, but unfortunately, you guys broke up. 

It would be weird to keep using the same Netflix account together now, wouldn't it? That's why Netflix says it understands our complex relationship problems and has enabled a feature called Profile Transfer.

Enabling Profile Transfer will allow the profile user to transfer their watch history data including the lists and games to a new account that they might open up. This account will be paid for by the other person. 

Does it sound like something you might need? We don't know who asked for it. 

What are netizens saying about the feature? According to Twitterati, this feature smells of conspiracy; conspiracy by Netflix to make their subscribers out themselves for sharing their accounts with others. 

  • For one, it may seem like a helpful feature when it comes to sharing an account with a person you might break up with in the future. But we do not understand how it helps within cases of families, which is likely to be most users. 

  • Netizens think that this is the first step that Netflix is taking to identify users who are sharing their accounts with multiple people. 

  • As we all know, Netflix wants to charge users for sharing their passwords with others. Nobody knows why they would do something like this when there are already various subscription packs available on the number of screens required. 
  • Two people on a single-screen account cannot watch Netflix at the same time. 

How to use the feature? Well, we don't know whether netizens are right about the so-called conspiracy by Netflix. But in case you do require this feature, then here is how you can use it:

  • Open Netflix website on a web browser (NOT THE APP).
  • Login using the account that has your profile.
  • Go to accounts page under the profile menu. Head to Profiles and Parental Control tab. 
  • Choose the profile using which you want to create a new account. 
  • Click on Transfer Link in the Transfer Profile tab.
  • Create a new account using your email ID and set the password. 

Important note: You will need to have access to the Netflix account credentials where your profile sits to be able to create a new account using that profile.

Last updated: October 31, 2022 | 16:05
IN THIS STORY
    Please log in
    I agree with DailyO's privacy policy