How many times have you wished that you could leave people on read on Instagram, like you can do on WhatsApp? Now, it looks like Instagram is finally coming up with a new feature that will allow you to leave people on 'Seen', and they will have no idea about it.
Instagram is testing a new feature that will let you turn off your read receipts in DMs (Direct Messages). The information was shared by Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg on his Instagram channel.
Mosseri, on his broadcast channel on Instagram, shared screenshots of the upcoming feature, which hints at the option to disable read receipts that would be available under the “Privacy and Safety” settings.
Check out the screenshot:
Instagram has not made an official statement regarding the rollout plan for the feature, but it is expected to be available soon for general users through app updates. As of now, we checked, the feature is not available for people even using Instagram in developer mode.
Meta-owned messaging platform WhatsApp already offers a similar feature that enables users to turn off read receipts, allowing them to read messages in private without notifying the sender.